A mad dash – To the Antique shops in White River

Browse. Meander. Stay and wander.

These are all words that I associate with my visits to antique, vintage and thrift shops in the past.
I kind of want to pay tribute to the time each piece took to get to right this minute when we first meet.

Here are some prime examples from Antiques & Artifacts at Casterbridge Lifestyle Centre

image

image

image

image

image

I want to hear the stories they whisper to me as I pass. To witness the hardships they faced which is visible on their worn exterior… I’m sorry – the right lighting, old stuff, THAT smell (you know the one that reminds you that these things have made a journey through time and collected a little scent from each day and are now wearing them ALL.AT.THE.SAME.TIME – like that unmentionable aunt that goes perfume hunting,  yes hunting – it is something that should be killed: the practice not the aunt,  and samples each bottle in store… Liberally… But I digress) the combination of all these just puts me in a romantic mood.

image

image

It isn’t a mad dash.

And yet this is how this Sunday roadtrip with my mom and my daughter panned out. The boys where out mountain biking one (or more – you know boys and their MTB toys) of the spectacularly scenic routes around White River and I had time to kill.

But not that much.

So this would have to be a quick in, quick out kind of antique trip. A mad dash to Antiques and Gracious Living at Bagdad Centre!

And this is what I saw:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I love hearing from you. So let me know which shops you favour to bury your nose in the trinkets of the past. This way we #discoverMpumalanga together.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. laurakim says:

    Oh how awesome!!! Love the tea set.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awh, thanks Laura-Kim. It really is dainty, isn’t it. And always gets me wondering what the ladies were discussing when having their mid-morning/afternoon tea in them… Were they gossiping? What do you think?

      Like

Leave a Reply

