Swing by Waterval Boven for the best sport climbing in Mpumalanga

Swing by Waterval Boven for the best sport climbing
Swing by Waterval Boven for the best climbing

Tired of hanging around the house? Why not round-up a group of your #besties and swing on by Waterval Boven for a bit of an adventure.

DSC_0080-01_edit

When I heard that we will be doing adventure activities on the #tourismmonthMP media tour launch, I was filled with a mix of emotions. I was excited to be trying new things and #discoverMpumalanga, but also anxious as I’ve never done anything similar and wasn’t sure what to expect.

image

The day started with meeting the owners of Roc ń Rope Adventures, Gustav and Alex Janse van Rensburg, and being shown the ropes.

Teams of two working together on the descent
Teams of two working together on the descent

Here @nomadicmichelle and @jobamson were busy getting ready, learning how to stay safe and support each other on the descent.

As I was soon to find out,  being enthusiastic about the activity while being in the transit to the site – EASY.

Walking to the edge and seeing the reality of my choice – LESS EASY.
Making the jump – LESSEST EASY
image

I’m sorry, that should be LEAST EASY {heights messes with my grammatical skills}

And yet when my time to abseil came and I edged my way to the precipice, having the calming voice of the support crew guiding me along helped to settle the nerves and I was ready to enjoy the adventure.

wpid-dsc_0033-02_edit.jpg

wpid-dsc_0032-01_edit.jpg

Roc ‘n Rope Adventures have facilitated these adventure-based activities for the past 16 years with no incident. It is really safe and one to add to your #discoverMpumalanga must-do list.

The highlight of the day was the opportunity to do some rock climbing. Although some parts of the ascent was more challenging than others, it required me to be creative in looking for ways to the top.

image

Not only is this a great activity for friends and family but would also suite corporate clients looking for team building exercises.

Leave a Reply

