Blogging marvelous: Papierazzi receives a Liebster Award

I just love notifications,  don’t you?

They are the virtual chocolates on your travel pillow, the cookie at the side of your coffee cup, the… I think you get my point.  All sweet things and little moments that make a good day great.

image

So when I received this (👆) notification from @travelopulent , something that normally gets me hyped, just totally pushed me off the excitement grid.

You see, I am, what is considered by most, a newbie blogger because my followers can be counted on one hand (I dream of the day that this will change to two hands… times a gazillion – gotta dream big).

So, a huge thanks to the sweet Patrycja from Travel Opulent Box, who is also the host of the weekly #TravelChatSA on Wednesdays at 7pm. Our paths have now serendipitously collided twice and both times (for me –  in any case) for the better.

What is a Liebster Award?

image
Liebster Award

There is quite a few versions afloat in the blogosphere. The main theme, though, stays the same throughout: “An online nomination award where established bloggers nominate new and upcoming bloggers who they feel are doing an excellent job in their blogging sphere and deserve the exposure,” aptly described here by Stuart Parker of Capturing Africa Journeys.

What’s expected of me:
» The nominee must thank the nominator and provide a link back to the nominator’s site.
» The nominee must provide 11 random facts about him/herself – skipping this one!
» Answer the questions set by the nominator.
» Choose 11 more people and ask them a set of new questions.

My Liebster Award nominees:
For most of these nominees the complete opposite of how a Liebster Award works is true, but it is no less true to the spirit of the Award. Here a newbie blogger would like to give these established bloggers due respect and let them know that they are doing a fantastic job at inspiring me to Explore | Photograph | Blog more.

The Sparkling Labyrinth – Faeema Sader
Mia Musings – Namrata
Only Trail – Cornel van Heerden
2Summers – Heather Mason
Bazzle Wazzle – Barry Tanner
In Africa And Beyond – Sara Essop
So Far Blog – MG & Eras
Wanderer Blog – Lynette Botha
Tails Of A Mermaid – Natalie Roos

My questions to each of you are:
1. Why did you start blogging? Has it turned out to be what you expected?
2. If you could live one day over again,  what day would it be?
3. If you could live anywhere in the world,  where would it be, and why?
4. Sunrise or Sunset, and why?
5. What do you do to relax after a difficult day at work?
6. What do you deem essential travel products?
7. What advice would you give your younger self?
8. You’ve just won an all expenses paid trip to a destination of your choice. Where would you go?
9. What’s one of your best travel lessons you’ve learnt so far?
10. Share your favourite #Travel picture and list where and when it was taken.
11. Your favourite Mpumulanga town is

image

…?

My answers:
1. What inspired you to blog and what do you like to blog about?
I like to look for the details in most things, so Papierazzi started out as way to capture the details of the life I see in and around #Mpumalanga. Since I’ve spent the largest part of my life in this province, and having travelled with my parents quite extensively, I was convinced there wasn’t much more to discover in Mpumulanga. You know,  you’ve got your Canyon, your Kruger, and that’s about it. And don’t get me wrong, ’cause both these are smashing great places to visit… But there are so much more!
So my husband rallied up his travel troops, and we started to #discoverMpumalanga, and that was the birth of the Papie

image

razzi Blog.

2. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would it be?
The first major wanderlust wish is a self-drive trip through Africa in a Unimog-ish kind of vehicle (obviously I’m not a petrolhead). And not as a tourist, but a traveller. I need to be in a place a bit longer than your average nomad; I need time so that the dust of a place can come to rest on my s(h)oul-ders.

3. Hotel or Camping, and why?
This is like asking me to choose between a bath or shower? You see I’m a shower kind of girl, enjoying the more functional side to things. So I suppose camping is a firm favourite. Every girl likes a bubble bath, though, and at some point (even the functionalitas – is that even a word? – of the gender).  So I wouldn’t be completely opposed to opulent accommodation, but only for a short treat, then it’s back to ground sheets and canvas for me.

4. Tell us about the most memorable holiday you’ve ever had?
My honeymoon still tops the list. I can just imagine the word “cliché” popping into most reader’s heads.. Right about… NOW! It’s more than the obvious that has me sticking with it as my numero uno holiday and that after 8 years of marriage and adventures.

*Location Scout and I had only the first week of the honeymoon planned (a week at the north coast – St. Lucia), but the magic of being #Roamies (a portmanteau word of roaming + homies), free to discover #SouthAfrica, being able to take a new road depending on the appeal of the name to both of us, camping in Monks Cowl in the Drakensberg and almost getting blown away by a severe storm. That will forever be a life experience

image

I will treasure.

5. Tell us about the worst travel experience you’ve ever had?
Oh boy, I do not have a lot of these, since I find humour in most difficult situations (great coping mechanism b.t.w). But what comes to mind is THAT vacation in 1988 when my parents and I did a tour of South Africa. The one where I completely missed the Big Hole in Kimberly due to a voracious flesh-eating stomach monster (okay, monster should be the dead giveaway that this version might be a slight over-exaggeration).

Having hallucinations, being in the lower grades of primary school, a vivid imagination and hearing you are going to a town named Pofadder, might not be the best combination in hindsight.
And just as I was making my recovery, and starting to enjoy the trip again, I discovered in Paternoster that I am allergic to Crayfish… Real allergic. Two days of crustacean hell and a bad case of FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out) had me in its grip and missing out on great towns up until Langebaan.

So that is the terrible tale of 1988.

6. Favourite Social Media platform and why?
Twitter. Instagram. Pinterest. Every other imaginable platform. And then Facebook.
In that order.

7. Favourite thing(s) about your home country is…?
I sneaked in an (s) behind the word thing. I’m a girl. There is no universe that exists where a girl can only give a straight answer. And this is my blog, and I’ll write if I want to, write if I want to…😁.

But seriously, though.
1. The wild places, where the noise from the human industrial evolution has not yet found its way to.
2. The diverse biospheres and eco-systems.
3. The stories locked up within the cultural heritage.
4. The freedom to explore.

These are the things that draw me to this geographi

image

cal space on earth.

Leave a Reply

